Once a Champion, Always a Champion

Categories AlumniPosted on

Drury University celebrated the 40th anniversary of its 1979 NAIA National Championship during March 2 homecoming festivities. The team that captured the attention of basketball fans across the Ozarks and packed Weiser Gym for every home game gathered for a reunion and to be cheered by Drury fans once again. Members of the team received a replica of the NAIA National Championship trophy provided by Collegiate Awards and long-time boosters Tom Stout ’69 and Pam (Hackmann) Stout ’69.

The 1978-79 Panthers, pictured above, were Sky Kurlbaum, Kent Russell, Jerry Alexander, Nathaniel Quinn Jr., Curtis Hargus, Lawrence Washington, Eric Hall, Don Vincent, James Bone, David Bonham, Ed Wright, Kevin Weems, Doug Jones, Mike Carter, Charles Penn Jr., Randy Swearengin, Dan Browning, Robert Boone, Brad Smith and Robert Jones. The team was coached by head coach Jerry Kirksey and assistant coach Skip Shear. Completing the team were graduate assistant David Snowden, trainer Mark West and manager Jay Myres.